Manager’s Cheat Sheet

Posted: March 12, 2010 in Leadership
Tags: , , ,

I came across the “Manager Cheat Sheet: 101 Common Sense Rules for Leaders” online tonight and decided to go through and pick out one trait in each of the areas I need to work on. So, in complete honesty, here they are. Feel free to do the same and repost in the comments. I will definitely write posts dealing with mine individually later on.

The Full List Link

Body Language– “Take your hands out of your pockets” – Ok, this one is actually one of my better areas and something I always watch, but I know I am guilty of this while standing around in a meeting or group of people.

Meeting Deadlines– Delegation- This is an area I really need to work on. It’s hard for me to let a project be ran by someone else and not be crazy involved within it. I know I would get a lot more accomplished if I got better in this area.

Getting along with Employees– “Don’t Micromanage”- This one deals with the previous area as well. It’s hard for me to entrust employees with an area, but something I am actively working on. This Spring Practice Season I am going to try and delegate on the field film management to one of my interns.

Manage Yourself– “Be open to constructive criticism”- Ok, this is another problem area I realize I have. While I actively invite criticism of my work and leadership style, it is often hard to swallow and I get defensive either with the person or within my own thoughts.

Boosting Productivity- “Do your least favorite tasks first”- I’m bad at putting off something I don’t really want to do until last thing in the day, which inevitably gets pushed back to the next day, then the next. Maybe if I tackled it first without allowing myself to move on more things would get accomplished?

Manage Finance and Resources- “Spend only when it’s necessary”- Ok, this is more of a personal issue than a business/leader issue, however both affect each other. I may be known to splurge a little on things that aren’t really that important to me.

Communicate with Clients- “Don’t be afraid to say you don’t know”- While this necessarily doesn’t deal with clients in my job at Georgia State, I am the type person that will dance around a situation instead of saying I don’t know and then figuring it out. Working on this actively though.

Keep up with Change- “Test your Contingency Plans”- This is another area I actually excel in. I love change and adopt it eagerly. But this is the area I’m least developed in within this region. I am getting good at it though, in video you can never afford for something to go wrong!

Resolving Problems- “Fix what’s broken”- Don’t place blame, but fix it. Yeah, that is something I am working on.

Go above and beyond- Ok, this area I actually do pretty well in too. Being empathetic to personal problem would be my lowest score in this category though.

Ok, you’re turn. Whats your top area to work on in each? Maybe just pick out a top five from the whole list?

Leave a Reply

