The Highlands- A Wedding Production Pt. 1

Posted: March 2, 2010 in Misc.
Tags: , ,

First I would like to say– if you’re still around reading– thank you! I realize it’s been nearly three months since I last posted anything on this blog. I did so well for a few years keeping you updated on my life, my thoughts and other random things. I realized how much I missed putting my thoughts to paper, or in this case keyboard, so therefor I am going to attempt, yet again, to keep this thing rolling!

Now that I have apologized I will continue to the name sake of this post, The Highlands.

This weekend I had the opportunity to film a wedding in Highlands North Carolina for an incredible family. My work started weeks before however as I assembled the birth through engagement photos into a piece to show at the Rehearsal Dinner. Saturday morning I embarked on the drive to The Highlands with a good friend of mine, Kylie. Of course as we drove up the mountain we saw an incredible Waterfall and had to find it. After driving around in Sky Valley for a while we quickly figured out this was not an easy task. We eventually decided just to park at the top of the mountain and then hike up to at least get a good view. It was actually very enjoyable, although very cold!

After driving back down we stopped an awesome country store and talked with the elderly lady at the counter for a while, it turns out she had a lot of great recommendations for waterfalls, unfortunately due to our hour of aimless searching we had no time to continue our exploration.

On top of the Mountain

Arriving in The Highlands I was quickly amazed at the charm of the small town. The wedding was taking place at Old Edwards Inn which was an incredible blend of relaxed luxury (yes, I stole that line from their website). The place is one of the top resorts in the South East and it definitely lived up to the reputation!

Upon arriving we headed out to The Farm at Old Edwards Inn which is where the wedding was to take place. This was also where Kylie, Alice, Brenda and the rest of the Seven and Company Staff were staying. Seven and Company is an incredible Salon you should check out! With only a few minutes before the Rehearsal I headed over to the Dinner Location to ensure that everything was in order to play the DVD.

The Farmhouse

The rehearsal was good, although very chilly as we stood outside in a semi-heated tent. Following the rehearsal we all headed over to the Dinner Location which consisted of some great Bar-b-q and Ribs. While heading to the Dinner I realized I needed a few more cables in order to capture audio at the wedding and my parents were kind enough to drive them up to me! The DVD played and everyone seemed to enjoy the photos streaming across the screen.

Tomorrow continues Wedding Production Part 2 covering the Wedding and the Incredible Hotel I stayed.

If you’re interested in having a quality wedding video, visit my site at blakegadams.com or contact me directly. We love working working with you to capture every moment of your magical day.

Leave a Reply

