The Making of a College Football Video Department- Part 1

Posted: August 19, 2009 in Misc.
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Just over two weeks ago when I first started as the Director of Video Operations for Georgia State University Football the department consisted of nothing; no equipment, no personnel, no plan! However, as of today, we are able to produce quality video of every practice from three different angles and have that video inter-cut and separated on DVD’s and Hard Drives and in the Coaches hands in less than two hours after practice!! (This time will be cut drastically down when the brand new XOS Sports Editing System comes in at the end of September)

Four amazing Video Interns have joined my department and they are doing fantastic, especially for the first time ever of filming Football! Give it a few more weeks and our quality of footage will easily compete with that of top tier programs… and I’m excited about making that pursuit of excellence! Each day brings new challenges, but with those challenges come opportunities to learn and grow the program.

Below is a recap of the milestone days of the last few weeks:

Monday, August 3rd 2009- First Day in the Office

My Temporary Office

My Temporary Video Office

The first day in the office was much busier than I had first imagined. The 7:30am staff meeting was a great way to start off my career with the GSU Football Team. Coach Curry shared his positive thought of the day and everyone discussed the week ahead. Afterwards I headed to my office thinking “What will I do now?”. It didn’t take long for that question to be answered as I received a call from our Athletic Director moments later asking me to create three videos for her fundraiser presentation.

Thursday, August 6th 2009- First Four Video Interns
Today I had four interns join my staff that I am extremely excited about. They will help bring the program up to the level of excellence I know we can achieve. It is them who will be responsible for the daily filming of the practices… and eventually games… of the GSU Football Program. The department wouldn’t be here with out them!

Saturday, August 8th 2009- Basic Video Editing and Distribution System

ESPN Interviewing Coach Curry

ESPN Interviewing Coach Curry

Over the last two days I developed a system to get practice film to all of the coaches, and to the meeting rooms across campus for the players review, all in a timely and convenient manner. The system consists of an array of flash drives, hard drives, computers and a little custom programming from myself. Calling up a major electronics store in North Atlanta we were able to stay within our budget and get some amazing equipment to give us a jump start!

Tuesday, August 11th 2009- First Class of GSU Players Arrive

Today the first class of 70+ GSU Football Players arrived on campus. I spent the morning filming the players arriving at The Commons (their housing) and then the afternoon filming and working with the players and families lunch at the Rialto Theater in downtown. ESPN, ESPN The Magazine, Fox, ABC, the AJC and other major news outlets spent the morning in my office interviewing coaches and key players.

Wednesday, August 12th 2009- Football Testing and Meetings

First Day on the Practice Field

First Day on the Practice Field

We headed out to the practice fields today for the first time ever to do some basic testing of the players. Two of my video interns reported today and did an amazing job on the field! It was also the first test of my video system for meeting rooms… and it worked! All evening was spent in the player meeting rooms.

Thursday, August 13th 2009- Cameras Arrive!
Just in time for the first day of “real” practice my three Panasonic DVX500 P2 Cameras arrived at Central Shipping. As it would be the next day before they were able to deliver them to me, I quickly raced across town to pick them up! Excitement abounded the rest of the evening as I unpacked them and got them set-up and ready to go.

Friday, August 14th 2009- First GSU Practice Ever

First Ever GSU Practice

First Ever GSU Practice

The first ever GSU Football Practice took place today, and the first ever GSU Football Video Staff took the field to capture every play… every moment on camera. The crew did fantastic capturing all the footage needed, and afterwards I was able to edit it all and have it to the coaches in record time. The evening was spent in player meetings watching that very practice footage.

Monday, August 16th 2009- First Regular GSU Practice
Today was the first day of regular GSU Practice… also known as days when I have to be in the office by 6am because players arrive at 6:30am for meetings. Practice begins at 8am and runs till 10am and I have all the practice footage ready to go by 11:30am for coaches meetings. It’s stressful… but I thrive on stress!

More to Come….

Me (Blue Shirt, Foreground)

Me (Blue Shirt, Foreground)

As we continue to build the program there are many more milestones to look forward to: New Office, XOS Equipment, New Practice Fields, New Meeting Rooms, New Locker Rooms, More New Offices… FIRST GAME EVER in 2010… and the list goes on and on. What an exciting time to be a part of the GSU Football Department.

Be on the lookout for many more posts over the next few weeks. 

Comments
  1. Nick says:

    Oh those interns do sound awesome. You are a lucky guy Blake…

Leave a Reply

