Disney Weekend! Part 1

Posted: February 22, 2009 in Disney
Tags: , , ,

“All our Dreams come true if we have the courage to pursue them”

Family at the Castle
Family at the Castle

Over the weekend I had the opportunity to travel with my family to Orlando, and of course to the most amazing place on earth, Disney World! Leaving on Thursday afternoon we slowly began to make our way to Orlando by first fighting Atlanta traffic! After an eight hour drive, including a few pit stops, we made it to our hotel and called it a night.

Friday morning we woke up around 8:30am and headed to the Animal Kingdom Lodge to see the check out the Animals! This hotel is definitely on my top list for the Walt Disney World Resort, you wake up to views of the “African Savannah” every morning with Giraffes grazing right outside your window!

Inside the T-Rex Resturaunt
Inside the T-Rex Restaurant

After the Animal Kingdom Lodge visit we headed into Downtown Disney for a little shopping, of course visiting the Lego store, and then tried out the new T-Rex Restaurant! I would rate this one high on a themed restaurant scale for the WDW Resort. It has several themed areas, including an ice cave, a rain forest and a volcano fire room! Every few minutes the lights would dim and a meteor shower would hit. I ordered the Flat Bread Chicken Pizza which was quite good, however next time I will leave off the sauce.

Testing out Emily's Camera while waiting on Dinner
Waiting on Dinner

Of course next on my list for the afternoon were the meetings with some Disney Leaders I had scheduled! We went back to the hotel where I changed then I headed over to Disney Casting! The meetings were amazing, as they always are when I am able to visit! I will share more about those as time goes on! My family stayed at the hotel and rested for the long night ahead!

After my meetings I headed back to the hotel to get ready for the remainder of the evening! Our first order of business was to continue our Hotel hoping tour! It is literally a full day adventure to visit the different resorts within Disney, as each one of them have a unique environment! Our first hotel visit for the afternoon was The Wilderness Lodge!

Me at The Wilderness Lodge
Me at The Wilderness Lodge

This one tops my list of resorts to stay at while at Disney! Modeled after the Grand Canyon hotel this is truly a remarkable work of art! Walking in you are literally overtaken by the vastness of the great room! However the outside is what is truly amazing about this resort!

Emily and I looking off The Lodge
Emily and I looking off The Lodge
Grand Floridian Hotel Lobby
Grand Floridian Hotel Lobby

After The Wilderness Lodge we headed to the Contemporary to park, then took the MonoRail to the Polynesian Resort. The Polynesian is also a very cool resort, with beaches and pools that are reminiscent of a Hawaiian Resort. The Polynesian is also home to a few great restaurants including Ohana which I have had the privilege of eating at in the past. After the Polynesian we rode over to the Grand Floridian Resort, which is the “upscale” resort of Walt Disney World. With a very turn of the century atmosphere one is easily taken back to a time of pure luxury! This hotel also houses ‘ and Albert’s, which is a restaurant I will have to try soon (the meals run around $100 per person however!)

castle-wide-california-grill
A View from the California Grill

After the Grand Floridian it was time to head back to the Contemporary Resort to catch the Fireworks from the roof viewing deck and then for our 9:45 reservation at California Grill. We arrived a little early and Emily and I headed outside to the beach area were we tested out her new camera with night reflection shots! They turned out very cool! (Check the second picture above out).

A view from the California Grill
The View

Around 8:30 we headed upstairs to catch the fireworks! If you have not yet seen the fireworks from this angle be sure to make reservations at California Grill to do so! You are perched about 10 stories above the park and have a commanding view of all the Magic Kingdom. They also play the shows music over loud speakers on top of the deck! Warning- This does not take the place of seeing it in front of the castle of if you never have!

The Family at Dinner

The Family at Dinner

After viewing the fireworks it was time for my Birthday Dinner at the California Grill! This is an absolutely amazing restaurant that you must check out if you’ve got time! It is definitely geared more toward adults however, and the price range is at least in the $30’s per person, but it is worth it for the environment and the food! I believe I tasted the most amazing rocky shrimp I have ever had! Unfortunately mom was the one who ordered it so I only got a bite! After the main meal we ordered a dessert and they brought out my Birthday Cake! Of course, being Disney, all the Cast Members who were working “On Stage” knew it was my Birthday!

B-Day Cake

The B-Day Cake

After the meal we called it a night and headed back to the hotel to prepare for the next day at the Magic Kingdom! Check back tomorrow for that part of the story!

All in all it was a great Friday and a great way to start off my Birthday Weekend!

Comments
  1. […] say this was a completely different environment than my Birthday Celebration at California Grill on Friday night! My Cookie […]

Leave a Reply

