Change at Metro Youth

Posted: January 15, 2009 in Church Production, Service Production, Stage Design
Tags: , , ,

Yesterday I blogged about the Stage Design and Construction for Metro Youth in Birmingham Alabama and today I’m finishing up with their first service with the new equipment.

Testing out the Intro Video

Testing out the Intro Video

After my Tuesday classes (which by the way I’m only doing Tuesday and Thursday classes this semester!) I headed back to Birmingham to finish the design and also have a meeting with Scott and some of his volunteers to go over the first service. We decided to use the Space Shuttle countdown, which looked absolutely fantastic on the back screen! Following the countdown CJ came in with Your Name High.

CJ Leading Worship

CJ Leading Worship

I actually ended up running the Lyrics, Backgrounds for the Screen and the Lighting for the service because their normal video guy had been recruited to play drums pre-service. It was crazy! I had one hand on the backgrounds computer changing backgrounds on the stage screen every few lines and then my other hand on the lyrics computer trying to keep up with the songs! I have some crazy respect for lyrics operators, especially on two lines per slide! (Thank you Kimberly, you do fantastic at 333!)

CJ Leading Worship

CJ Leading Worship

After Your Name High Scott came up and spoke then we had a worship bumper video play on the screens. I’m still impressed by how good the screens ended up looking! CJ then finished the worship set with Solution, Rain Down and Say what you Say

Worship at Metro Youth

Worship at Metro Youth

Following Worship Scott came up and devliered an awesome message about change! He actually had three points (Changing, Growing and Reaching) he had hoped to get to, however he get extremely excited and stayed on Changing the whole time! I made a motion video to be on the screens behind him. It had the winter scene fading into a summer scene and then back to a winter scene over and over.  It looked great behind Scott preaching!

Scott preaching about Change

Scott preaching about Change

It was an awesome service and I believe that the students really bought into the Changing, Growing, Reaching message! I am excited to see what all God has in store for Scott and Metro Youth! I am heading back at the end of January with the Origin Band where they will be having a night of worship with Metro Youth! It should be pretty good! I’ll make sure to take plenty of pictures of that!

Thank you to all of the wonderful workers and volunteers who used their gifts, talents and time to bring this change to Metro Youth! You were all fantastic to work with and I look forward to working with you again soon!

Leave a Reply

