Chick-Fil-A Bowl

Posted: January 12, 2009 in Georgia Tech Video
Tags: , , , , ,

So it’s time that I spend a little quality time updating the blog. Sorry for the posting (or lack there of) the last couple of weeks. Things have been absolutely insane! Anyway, I’m finally getting around to posting about the Chick-Fil-A Bowl, I delayed as long as I could on this one. As you know the score was not favorable for us, however the experience and photos were great!

Me at the Falcons Game

Me at the Falcons Game

This year as the Chick-Fil-A Bowl was in Atlanta, our own backyard, the bowl experience was quite different for the video staff than in the past. For instance with the Humanitarian Bowl last year we flew out to Idaho for a week, the year before to Jacksonville for a week. This year however we stayed on campus (the team did it like a real bowl trip, staying in a hotel all week). At first I wasn’t to happy to stay on campus, I mean how boring to be stuck in Atlanta for a week! However, it actually turned out pretty good because I got a lot more time off than I would have stuck in some other state! We had practice Friday-Monday and then we had to be back Wednesday afternoon for the game.

At the Falcons Game in the Chick Fil A Gear

At the Falcons Game in the Chick Fil A Gear

They did let us go to the Falcons game with the team on Sunday which was great! The support staff (us) had to end up walking over from the school, about a twenty minute walk, and I must say 20 of us dressed in Chick-Fil-A Bowl gear made for quite a sight walking the streets of Atlanta! We got several questions and interesting looks! The game was great and it came down to a fourth quarter win!

After Monday’s morning meeting I was free till Wednesday afternoon so I headed back up to the house. This was when I did the Night On Death Mountain which I wouldn’t have gotten to do if I was in Idaho, so see, some benefits of not going somewhere else!

Me at the Chick-Fil-A Van

Me at the Chick-Fil-A Van

Wednesday after we got off the mountain my parents drove me down to Georgia Tech where I had to meet the rest of the video staff at 4:00. Of course I was dressed all in my Chick-Fil-A Bowl gear and can you guess where we stopped for lunch? If you guessed Chick-Fil-A then you’re right! It was interesting being in there while sporting three different Chick-Fil-A clothing items!

The Tickets and My Pass

The Tickets and My Pass

I got down to Tech around 3:20 and got my parents their tickets and my All Access Pass!  My parents had pretty good seats, they were lower level at least! Then I hung around the office till my boss got there to take us to the team hotel.

After getting all our equipment from the hotel we drove over to the Georgia Dome for the game. Before taking my place high up in the stadium for End Zone shot I took a quick tour of the field and ran into Calvin Johnson (for you non-football fans he was the #1 NFL Draft Pick a year ago and he played at Tech). I talked with him a few minutes then told him that even though I worked with him two years I never got a picture with him! So I asked him if he would hop in one with me! (This deserves Center Spot)

Me and Calvin Johnson

Me and Calvin Johnson

Of course I also did my Panorama Shot from the Field during Warm up! These didn’t turn out the best because of the lighting conditions in the stadium but I did manage to make some!

My Panorama Shot from on the Field

My Panorama Shot from on the Field

After hanging out on the field for a little while I headed up to the high endzone to set up my camera and get ready for filming! I managed to take another two panoramas from here.

Panorama from my Filming Spot

Panorama from my Filming Spot

A Vertical Panorama (Vertorama?) Haha

A Vertical Panorama (Vertorama?) Haha

I won’t go into the details of the game because that would just kill the mood of the blog. I will say the most entertaining part of the game was the third quarter Paper Airplane Contests! They started from our section and before long basically the whole stadium was participating. I’m not going to say here if I was throwing them or not, but one or two may have accidentally left my hand as I picked them up to throw them away….

Anyway, after the game we headed down to the locker rooms and I must say that is the FASTEST we ever got out of there! Since we had ridden with my boss over we got in his car and he drove us back to the stadium! Within 45 minutes after the game I was back in my parents car heading back to Habersham!

So the game didn’t turn out great, but we had a great time!

Look for more posts this week! I’m going to do better!

Comments
  1. Staci says:

    Only Engineers from GT could make paper airplanes fly from one side of the arena to the other. Todd said it was awesome – The highlight of the game!!
    Remaining still,
    GT Fan 🙂

  2. […] Practice 2009. It’s been a good three months since I last filmed Georgia Tech Football (Chick-Fil-A Bowl), and it was fun to get back in the swing of things. I ran the tower camera today, which entails […]

Leave a Reply

