REunion #2- Riding the Van and Catchphrase

Posted: September 30, 2008 in Misc.
Tags: , , ,
My Riding Companions

My Riding Companions

As with any trip, at least the ones I’m on, half the fun is getting to your destination! That fact was no different in this case! I had to take the red-eye express for this trip, ok, we actually left around 6:30pm and arrived at around 1:00am, but still, it was a red-eye express for us! I was on the second van with all of us who actually have a work life and couldn’t leave with the morning van ;). My van consisted of Sandy our Driver, Jason our Co-Pilot, Sonya, Brandon, Fawn, Alicia and Alexis (both of the latter were my first time meeting). I spent the first thirty minutes giving everyone a brief re-cap of the last few months of my life, all in a biographical story fashion. It was great fun, at least for me (Sorry If I bored you all with it!).

For all those Parents with Kids under 1.5 inches wide.

For all those Parents with Kids under 1.5 inches wide.

We then stopped at McDonald’s for our evening dinner where Sandy was able to snap this beauty shot. I don’t know how many kids you have encountered who would be able to fit through that fence, but in today’s age of lawsuits I guess no one can be to careful! After the McDonald’s stop we, and yes Eric it was a collaborative effort, decided to play a small prank on them. The van picked me up in Atlanta so we decided to have me call Eric about two hours later and tell him that they had forgot me. We REALLY had him going with everyone pitching in. We finally decided to let him in on the joke, however he wasn’t to happy with us and didn’t talk with us much more that night. It also got Brandon and I kicked to the couches for the night!

Saving Money at the Hobo Pantry

Saving Money at the Hobo Pantry

For the rest of the trip we played several games like guessing Lyrics, the Alphabet game, Movie Game, Character Game…. etc. etc. Of course in attempts to save money for the weekend itself we had to resort to stopping at places like the Hobo Pantry! The ride back was much of the same, except we had two more riders who decided to join the Cool Van! (Good choice Wes and Abbie) We were all a little more tired on the way back so it wasn’t quite as lively, but still a great time!

The Crew and I

The Crew and I

Catchphrase

Playing Catch Phrase--- My Feet in the Bottom Right Corner!

Playing Catch Phrase--- My Feet in the Bottom Right Corner!

The game of the weekend, at least late nights on the weekend, was Catchphrase. I really enjoyed this game and was able to get into it and share some of that Great Georgia Tech knowledge! Surly I’m not the ONLY one who knows about Manifest Destiny? Right!? :). We played for hours on end both Friday and Saturday nights with everyone getting involved. I think at one point we had about 15 or 16 people in the circle playing! My team won every time of course… except with the other team was keeping score then somehow they managed to get points every time we got points! And of course with Phillip’s very interesting Belt Buckle descriptions! It was still a lot of fun, not only winning but getting to hang out with such a great group of people!

Check back later for more Stories and Pictures!

Leave a Reply

