Achieving Success through Perseverance pt2

Posted: June 6, 2008 in Organizational Behavior, Quotes
Tags: , ,

Here is the second installment of Perseverance Sustains Your Talent from my reading of John Maxwell’s “Talent is Never Enough” book. (By the way, I’m going to the lake again tonight and tomorrow, so no posts)

Today I continue looking at the Principals of Perseverance (Next week we’ll look at enemies of perseverance)

Principles of Perseverance (pt 2)

4) Perseverance Draws Sweetness Out of Adversity

I’ve dreamed many a dream that’s never come true,
I’ve seen them vanish at dawn,
But enough of my dreams have come true
To make me keep dreaming on

I’ve prayed many a prayer that seemed no answer would come,
Though I’d waited so patient and long,
But enough answers have come to my prayers
To make me keep praying on

I’ve sown many a seed that’s fallen by the wayside,
For the birds to feed upon
But I’ve held enough golden sheaves in my hands
To make me keep sowing on

I’ve trusted many a friend that’s failed me
And left me to weep alone
But enough of my friends have been true-blue
To make me keep trusting on

I’ve drained the cup of disappointment and pain,
And gone many a day without a song
But I’ve sipped enough nectar from the roses of life
To make me want to live on.

-Howard Goodman from “I Don’t Regret the Mile”

I think that poem pretty much sums it up. The most successful people are the people who find something meaningful out of adversity, trials and tribulations. The see that the best thing about any trial is coming out on the other side of it! The greatest thing is coming through adversity and finding something good in the process, no matter how small it is!

5) Perseverance Has a Compounding Effect on Life

You have to do the right things EVERY day. Work hard, treat other with respect, learn, grow and invest in yourself! I know that there are many things relating to my goals I can’t do right now. However I do something every day that will further me to this success. Whether it be reaching out to others, honing in on my craft, learning new things that can be used, working hard etc. I try to find something I can do daily to grow and invest in myself.

Every successful person find that great success lies just beyond the point when they’re convinced their idea is not going to work.
-Napoleon Hill

6) Perseverance Means Not Stopping Because You’re Tired but Because the Task is Done

Success is a little like wrestling a gorilla. You don’t quit when you’re tired- you quit when the gorilla is tired!
-Robert Strauss

-Ok, so that may have to be a quote of the week VERY soon! I really like that and it is quite comical while very true! Often times we don’t even begin to find success until we are tired. It is then that we have to persevere. There have been numerous times where I have worked on a video idea for hours and want to just give up because I’m tired of it. It is in those moments I have to remember why I’m doing it and pull out some extra “juice” (no, not Mountain Dew) from my reserve tanks to keep going. One video was the recruiting video this year. In the beginning I was very motivated to do it and approached it with full energy! After about twenty hours of tedious work on a few effects (not consecutively) I really began to ware out and began thinking that I would just cut this effect and take out that one. However somewhere I found the perseverance to continue on it. It turned out to win 3rd place in a National College Football Video Contest among all the division one and two college football programs!

Next week I’ll continue to look at Maxwell’s book and look at Enemies to Perseverance.

…Hopefully I’m not boring everyone to death, just disregard these posts if you’re not interested ;).

Leave a Reply

