The Number 10 Principal

Posted: February 19, 2008 in Church Production, Church Videos, Leading a Media Team

So I’m reading John C. Maxwells book “Winning with People”. For those of you who don’t know him, he’s one of the best leadership experts today. Anyway, one of the principals I read today is The Number 10 Principal. To sum it up, every leader should look at everyone as though they are a perfect 10. A great quote he included in there was
“Treat a man as he appears to be and you make him worse, but treat a man as if he already were what he potentially could be, and you make him what he should be” -Johann Wolfgang Von Goethe.
I really like this quote. I know from personal experiance that viewing people in this light can really help to develop them. I know there have been several times as I was growing in media that I didn’t really know what I was doing, but instead of the leadership of the ministry just asking me to do something basic, they pushed me to try new things. It is because of this that I am where I am today.
I need to begin using this principal a lot more in my leadership as well. There are a lot of people who may join or be interested in the media ministry who do not know a whole lot about running equipement or producing videos. Sometimes (in the past)… I see these people as people who can contribute to the extent they currently know, and I don’t take time to develop them and see them in their future potential. However, if I begin to take the time to develop them and work with them, and also believe in them, they can become great at what they do and really contribute to the ministry.

So in parting, to all of you who work with me… You are Awesome! You have amazing talents and skills that God has blessed you with, and I pray that you continue to develop them and use them for God. If you ever need anything, please let me know.

There may be more to come as I keep reading.

Also, I have posted some new videos on the Youtube page.
http://www.youtube.com/onewaystudents
I tried to post How to be a Lady from last week, but it limits me to 10 minutes so I have to re-edit it.

Leave a Reply

